A look back at 2013 – Week #2.4

Monday :

I am in Paris, spending the holidays with my family. We still have 24 hours to go before Xmas dinner, so my nieces ask me to play Mario Kart with them. Result? In 15 years, nothing has changed. I am still a beast when racing but I still suck when it comes to balloon and sun battles!

My right leg is still resting so I am thinking about useful exercise I could add to my routine in order to strengthen the weaker parts of my body (mostly my pelvis and my chest) and not lose too much stamina. Therefore, I opened two books: “Convict conditioning” and a beginner’s booklet about Pilates. My brother and my two brother in-laws started the “convict method” a couple months ago. They email each other every other day to say how many pull-ups they did. The result so far? One stopped and had surgery. One is stronger but has trouble losing fat. One lost 20 lbs and looks like a marathoner…It is a method that relies on exercise where you only lift your own body weight. No machines needed. So here I am, starting this today. I tried a few exercises, quite new to me and where, despite my fitness level, I felt like a beginner, a bit frustrated.

Tuesday and Wednesday :

I hope you all had a Merry Christmas. In my family, we rarely get to gather and spend birthdays together. However, Christmas is a must. Merry Christmas! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

Thursday :

Today is the birthday of one of my niece. So we went to the movies. My group went to see “Albator” and the other went for “Frozen”. Albator is one of those super-hero who is fascinating, despite a lock of hair that covers 3/4 of his face and only about 10 lines. The artistic fibre of the other members of my family is sharper than mine. When they see a movie, they analyze in depth all the pros and the cons, whereas I listen to a line, let it infuse for 10 minutes in my brain, apply it to all possible aspects of my life and try to keep all the lessons I can. This is why, when watching a movie, I am rarely bored.

At the beginning of the movie, Albator’s crew is looking for a new member. Four men come, ready to apply. In order to choose the right one, they’re all asked the same question: “Why do you want to join this crew?”. The firsts answer: “For honor”…”For money”, then the last one says: “For liberty”. This is how I spent the next 30 minutes meditating about what freedom symbolizes to my life. Am I free? Am I still prisoner of something? You will read the answer throughout the 52 articles of 2014.

Albator’s ship, “the Arcadia”, is sublimely impressive. The death’s-head that covers its tip is unbelievably powerful. No need to tell you that when I get my future racing bike, I know which nickname to give it! When you see me in aerodynamic position, on a road near you, you could tell: “Damn, that’s the Arcadia!”.

Friday :

If there was a pool inside the Arcadia (Albator’s ship, not my bike!), it would be exactly like this one! It’s the pool of the future, I swear! Thanks to the metal at the bottom, you can see yourself constantly. This is just great! I realized my slide is pretty but my left elbow is sometimes lazy and doesn’t go as high as I want, when it’s out of the water.

This afternoon, the 10 of us were together, sitting in the living-room. Some talking. Some doing stuff and some decided to watch “Grease” on DVD. I am sure you remember “Summer lovin'”, the movie’s first song, don’t you? Well, when that song started, the 10 of us stopped doing what we were doing and turned towards the TV. I find it amazing that a movie released in 1978 could trigger such reaction. I remember thinking something similar when I lived in Rome, Italy, every time I stopped in front of the Pantheon, this incredible monument. I used to tell myself: “Thousands of years ago, some guys were there, piling up stones, hammering stuffs here and there. Do you think they were freaking bored doing this or do you think they were aware they were creating something that would amaze millions of visitors, two thousand years later?”

Do you realize that every day, you are this close of creating something that people would still remember in 5, 10, 100 or in a 1000 years? Are you aware of that? I think we all believe that what we create is okay but average, without any great interest for the world but it’s wrong. Each time I write one of these posts, each time I shoot a video, I have the chance to create something unbelievable, engraved in the memory of many. I have the possibility to believe this or I can keep on playing “small” and tell myself that after all, it’s just another blog and nothing more.

Every day, when I wake up, I have the chance to become one of the most unique triathlete of all time, to inspire people, make them dream, make them cry.

Do you remember this famous line from the movie “Coach Carter” starring Samuel L. Jackson?

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.

Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.

It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us.

You playing small does not serve the world.

There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.

We are all meant to shine as children do.

It’s not just in some of us; it is in everyone.

And as we let our own lights shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.

As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others”.

Saturday :

The alarm goes off at 8 and right away, I start thinking at what I must do during the next 59 minutes, before leaving Paris and going back South. But suddenly, I remember the dream I had last night and start wearing a big smile. What was my dream? I was in Rio de Janeiro.

I don’t dream about the Olympics yet but Brazil is in my subconscious. 

Sunday :

This is 2013’s last Sunday and for me, it is a tradition to give a look back at 2013, think about my goals for 2014 and last but not least announce, what seems to intrigue a few, the colour of the year and its theme.

IN 2013

I did

I did not

Interpret in 3 countries I had never been before: Tunisia, Switzerland and Indonesia. Settle in the country of my dreams.
Live in Rome for 4 months and in Singapore for 2 months. Manage to be in an incredible health.
Design a website and two blogs. Run a 10k in less than 37’42’’ (my best from 2001)
Write a book. Take the Japanese Language Proficiency Test.
Win a public speaking contest. Start taking piano lessons.
Find the job of my dreams. Manage to start a long-term relationship.
Have a nice love story.
Meet tens of incredible people.

My 6 most important goals/projects/dreams for 2014 are:

#1 – To be in the greatest health of my life.

#2 – To be a professional triathlete.

#3 – To make the triathlon France national team.

#4 – To be in a long-term relationship.

#5 – Live in a beautiful place

#6 – Take the Japanese Language Proficiency Test

I mention my 6 most important goals because I learnt that my attention should only go to my top 5 goals and that I should avoid #6 like plague. That if I tried to achieve #6 at the same time as #1, I would lose focus, time and energy and therefore move away from achieving #1, #2 and #3…

Only when I achieve one of my top 5 goals that I will give time to my #6. It hurts my heart not to study Japanese but you got to know what you want.

I love to give a colour to each year. At first, the colour only corresponded to that of my running kicks 😉 At that time, I lived in Hokkaido, Japan and fell in love with my Nike Free 3.0 bright yellow so I told myself: “2012 will be yellow” 😉

The tradition kept on going in 2013 and in addition to the colour, I gave it a theme. I am quite interested in chinese astrology and since 2013 was the year of the Snake (which I am highly scared of!), the theme I chose was “to conquer your fear” and the colour was “red” (yes, still referring to some shoes! 😉

2014 is now a few hours away and after a long hesitation, here is my verdict. The colour will be “green” and the theme “liberty”.

My chinese zodiac sign is Horse, which will also be the sign for the year 2014.

You know it. 2014 is going to be nothing but amazing.

Leave a Reply

